How Many Episodes Are in the Skywalker Saga?

Luke Skywalker Lightsaber

The Skywalker Saga, the central narrative of the Star Wars franchise, spans across multiple films, each adding a piece to the galactic story of the Skywalker family. In total, there are nine episodes in the Skywalker Saga.

Episode I: The Phantom Menace (1999)

The Phantom Menace” serves as the beginning of the saga, taking audiences back to the origins of the Skywalker bloodline. Set decades before the events of the original trilogy, the film introduces Anakin Skywalker, who would later become the infamous Darth Vader.

Episode II: Attack of the Clones (2002)

Attack of the Clones” delves deeper into Anakin Skywalker’s story as he grapples with his emotions, forges friendships, and experiences the early stages of his fall to the dark side. The film also explores the galaxy on the brink of the Clone Wars.

Episode III: Revenge of the Sith (2005)

Revenge of the Sith” marks the transformation of Anakin Skywalker into Darth Vader. The film portrays the tragic downfall of Anakin and the rise of the Galactic Empire, setting the stage for the original trilogy.

Episode IV: A New Hope (1977)

A New Hope” is the film that launched the Star Wars franchise, setting the stage for the battle between the Rebel Alliance and the Galactic Empire. It introduces Luke Skywalker, Leia Organa, Han Solo, and the iconic Darth Vader.

Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

The Empire Strikes Back” takes the story to new depths of darkness and reveals the stunning revelation of Darth Vader’s true identity. It is a pivotal chapter that tests the heroes’ resolve and showcases the power of the dark side.

Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (1983)

Return of the Jedi” concludes the original trilogy with the climactic Battle of Endor and the final showdown between Luke Skywalker and Darth Vader. It brings resolution to the story of the Rebel Alliance’s fight against the Empire.

Episode VII: The Force Awakens (2015)

The Force Awakens” introduces a new generation of characters and sets the stage for the sequel trilogy. It follows Rey, Finn, and Poe Dameron as they encounter the remnants of the Empire in the form of the First Order.

Episode VIII: The Last Jedi (2017)

The Last Jedi” continues the story of the new heroes and explores the challenges they face as they struggle to find their place in the galaxy. It delves into the inner conflicts of characters like Rey and Kylo Ren, testing their loyalties and beliefs.

Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

The Rise of Skywalker” serves as the grand finale of the Skywalker Saga. It brings together the characters from the original trilogy, the prequels, and the sequel trilogy for a final confrontation between the light and dark sides of the Force.

Image: Star Wars


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here