How Many Sith Lords Are There?

Sith Citadel

Determining the exact number of Sith Lords throughout the history of the Star Wars universe is a complex task. Sith Lords, practitioners of the dark side of the Force, have spanned across various eras, each with their own distinct identities and titles. However, it is important to note that the Sith operate under a Rule of Two, which limits the number of active Sith Lords at any given time.

The Rule of Two

The Rule of Two, established by Darth Bane, is a fundamental principle followed by the Sith for centuries. According to this rule, there should only be two Sith Lords at a time: a master to embody the power of the dark side and an apprentice to crave it. The master teaches the apprentice the ways of the Sith, with the ultimate goal of the apprentice eventually overthrowing the master and taking on their role.

Historical Sith Lords

Throughout the Star Wars saga, six Sith Lords have been featured prominently in the canon. Some of the notable Sith Lords include Darth Sidious (Emperor Palpatine), Darth Vader (Anakin Skywalker), Darth Maul, and Darth Tyranus (Count Dooku). Each of these Sith Lords played significant roles in the downfall of the Jedi and the rise of the Sith’s power.

We also hear about Darth Bane, aka Dessel who created the Rule of Two, and Darth Plagueis, who experimented with midi-chlorians to create life and achieve immortality. His manipulations of the Force were so extensive that he could influence life and death, but his ultimate downfall came from his apprentice, Darth Sidious, who betrayed and killed him in his sleep. Palpatine tells this story to Anakin when convincing him to turn to the dark side.

Expanding the Sith Legacy

While the Rule of Two limits the number of active Sith Lords, it does not mean that other Force users aligned with the dark side do not exist. There have been instances of Sith cults, dark side adepts, and acolytes who follow the teachings and philosophies of the Sith Lords. These individuals may possess varying degrees of Force sensitivity and dark side knowledge but are not considered official Sith Lords.

Image: Star Wars


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here